RSS

The Chinese Are Coming!

04 Dec

Sleep.

What’s that?
Brain’s kicked into gear and I can’t settle it enough for even 3 hours of a full night’s rest.
Ah well.

Could be worse.

Looked up a movie recommended by my friend Marije.
She couldn’t remember the name, but remembered key points
like the three cities, Bangladesh, Bangkok and Mexico.
I found it.

The movie’s called Whore’s Glory by Michael Glawogger.


How one can smile and find entertainment at set ups like these, is beyond me.
Shit like this creates a broken sadness in me of hopeless desperation.
I have not been able to find a version online to watch.
😥

Hopefully it’ll come out for purchase/viewing soon.
It was hard enough to find a trailer in English!!!

http://documentary.net/whores-glory-prostitution-in-thailand-mexico-and-bangladesh/

So, the Chinese are in Africa.
Shocker!
ha ha Not really.
The damn Chinese seem to infiltrate even the SMALLEST of countries.
Like, the Bahamas!
🙂

(Yours truly!!)

On my first trip to Holland, I signed up for a Kung Fu course.
In the first lesson, my teacher (sifu) discussed the history of martial arts and how it originated in China.
As I grow older, I’ve learned to embrace my heritage.

I’m always usually the only asian in my “herds” of friends.
Or, at least the only Chinese.
My collection of asians has been growing in the last few years…but they mainly consist of Thais, Filipinos
Indonesians, and Indians.

I plan on heading out to China next year.
Need to hit up ma peeps, as I like to say.

I’m currently watching “The Chinese are Coming.”

Very good documentary.
(2 hours long)

First hour is about the Chinese current presence in Africa and the ways in which they are influencing the
lives, culture and work ethics of the Africans.
The next hour covers the Chinese influx of Brazil.
(Where I’ll be living soon…need to get my Portuguese back up to par)

🙂

Description of film:
(Full-length video below)

Enjoy!

Travelling across three continents, Justin Rowlatt investigates the spread of Chinese influence around the planet and asks what the world will be like if China overtakes America as the world’s economic superpower. In the first of two films, he embarks on a journey across Southern Africa to chart the extraordinary phenomenon of Chinese migration to Africa, and the huge influence of China on the development of the continent.

While many in the West view Africa as a land of poverty, to the Chinese it is seen as an almost limitless business opportunity. From Angola to Tanzania, Justin meets the fearless Chinese entrepreneurs who have travelled thousands of miles to set up businesses.

Justin Rowlatt crosses Brazil and the United States on an epic journey as he continues to investigate the spread of Chinese influence around the planet.

In Rio, local industries, including bikini factories, are threatened by cheap Chinese imports, and in the Amazon, Justin witnesses the phenomenal impact of the Chinese hunger for resources on the indigenous people and the environment.

In the US, from California to the rust belt, Justin encounters the rising undercurrent of American fury over their own decline in the face of competition from China.


 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 4, 2011 in Africa, Brazil, China, Prostitution

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
